Gauld and May named in Scotland squad

SHEFFIELD Wednesday striker Stevie May and Sporting Lisbon forward Ryan Gauld are named in Gordon Strachan’s 27-man Scotland squad for the Euro 2016 qualifying double-header against Georgia and Poland.

Goal machine: 27-goal top scorer May was the catalyst to St Johnstone's successful 2013-14 season (Picture from
Goal machine: 27-goal top scorer May was the catalyst to St Johnstone’s successful 2013-14 season (Picture from

STEVIE May and Ryan Gauld have been included in the Scotland squad for the upcoming Euro 2016 qualifiers against Georgia and Poland.

Striker May, 21, scored 27 goals in all competitions for St Johnstone last season before moving to English Championship side Sheffield Wednesday, where he has three goals in seven appearances so far.

Midfielder Gauld, 18, was a revelation during two seasons in the Dundee United first-team prior to a £3 million move to Portuguese giants Sporting Lisbon during the summer.

Tartan Army boss Gordon Strachan has named a 27-man party for the double-header against Georgia at Ibrox on October 11 and the trip to Warsaw three days later.

Celtic captain Scott Brown, who scored the winning goal in a friendly against Poland in March, and Hull City left-back Andrew Robertson return to the fold after injury.

Brown, 29, is one of only three Scottish-based players in the squad including his Hoops team-mate Craig Gordon and Aberdeen defender Mark Reynolds.

Gordon, who has become the Hoops’ number one since the departure of Fraser Forster, again provides back-up for Cardiff captain David Marshall and Hull’s Allan McGregor in goal.

Meanwhile, six of the nine selected defenders are based in the English Championship, including Brighton centre-back Gordon Greer and Derby County full-back Craig Forsyth – who keep their places from the last squad.

Five of the 11 midfielders play in the Barclays Premier League with in-form West Bromwich Albion duo James Morrison and Graham Dorrans receiving the call.

But in-form Celtic youngster Callum McGregor and Aberdeen winger Peter Pawlett are surprise omissions despite impressing at the start of the Scottish Premiership season.

Versatile Celtic player Charlie Mulgrew and Wolves midfielder Kevin McDonald have not been selected as they nurse knee injuries.

Scotland battled nobly in Dortmund in their opening qualifier last month and were briefly on level terms through Ikechi Anya’s strike, but lost 2-1 to world champions Germany.



Craig Gordon (Celtic)
David Marshall (Cardiff City)
Allan McGregor (Hull City)


Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town)
Craig Forsyth (Derby County)
Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion)
Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers)
Alan Hutton (Aston Villa)
Russell Martin (Norwich City)
Mark Reynolds (Aberdeen)
Andrew Robertson (Hull City)
Steven Whittaker (Norwich City)


Ikechi Anya (Watford)
Barry Bannan (Crystal Palace)
Scott Brown (Celtic)
Craig Bryson (Derby County)
Chris Burke (Nottingham Forest)
Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion)
Darren Fletcher (Manchester United)
Ryan Gauld (Sporting Lisbon)
Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic)
James McArthur (Crystal Palace)
James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion)


Steven Fletcher (Sunderland)
Stevie May (Sheffield Wednesday)
Chris Martin (Derby County)
Steven Naismith (Everton)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.